Productions for children

It is a proven fact that music promotes intelligence. And it provides pleasure as well! Classical music can be a thrilling experience for young listeners too – it is certainly not just for adults.

With our special productions, we invite children and young people to get to know the world of music theatre. 

Pinocchio

Opera by Pierangelo Valtinoni 

Everyone knows the story of the wooden puppet who comes to life and whose nose gets longer when he tells lies. Before the runaway Pinocchio finds his way back to his father Geppetto and becomes a real flesh-and-blood boy, he has to deal with numerous adventures: he is thrown into prison, almost freezes to death, escapes from the clutches of the cruel circus director, and survives a shark attack.

This children’s opera is being performed for the first time in Austria. We will see members of the Volksoper children’s choir performing as snails, ravens, owls, hares, tuna fish, crickets and puppets.

Duration: approx. 1 hour 45 minutes
One interval 
Suitable
from age 6

Forthcoming performances:
Sunday, 19 November 2017, 6pm
Sunday, 26 November 2017, 4pm
Monday, 27 November 2017, 11am 
Sunday, 3 December 2017, 4pm 
Wednesday, 6 December 2017, 11am
Friday, 8 December 2017, 4pm
Sunday, 10 December 2017, 4pm
Thursday, 14 December 2017, 6:30pm 
Monday, 18 December 2017, 6pm
Wednesday, 4 April 2018, 6pm
Friday, 13 April 2018, 11:30am
Thursday, 19 April 2018, 6:30pm

Hänsel und Gretel

Opera by Engelbert Humperdinck

text by Adelheid Wette

Engelbert Humperdinck’s fairy-tale opera Hansel and Gretel is inseparably associated with Christmas at Volksoper Wien. For over 30 years the production by Karl Dönch, with magical scenery and costumes by Toni Businger, has enthralled audiences of all ages. The children of the poor broom-maker Peter spend their time singing and dancing. When their exhausted mother returns home, she is furious that they have not done the tasks she has set them, and she chases Hansel and Gretel out into the forest to look for berries. 14 angels guard them as they sleep, but the wicked witch is lurking in her gingerbread house …

Duration: 2 hours 
One interval 
Suitable from age 6

Forthcoming performances:
Saturday, 16 December 2017, 6pm
Wednesday, 20 December 2017, 11am
Saturday, 23 December 2017, 6pm
Monday, 25 December 2017, 5pm
Thursday, 28 December 2017, 6:30pm
Thursday, 04 January 2018, 6:30pm
Sunday, 07 January 2018, 4pm

The Sound of Music

Musical by Richard Rodgers 

lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II
Book by Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse
Based on the novel The Trapp Family Singers by Maria Augusta Trapp

The exuberant novice nun Maria Rainer is sent to Salzburg to the house of the widowed Baron von Trapp, where she is to look after his seven children. The former captain of the Austrian Navy, who brings his children up with military discipline, is at first sceptical in his response to Maria’s unconventional manner. However, he and the children soon take her to their hearts, and in the end she accompanies the Trapp family on their adventurous flight from the Nazis. Once heard, the melodies of The Sound of Music remain in the memory for a long time, including evergreen favourites such as “Edelweiss” and “The hills are alive”.

Duration: 3 hours
One interval
Suitable from age 6 

Forthcoming performances:
Sunday, 14 January 2018, 4:30pm
Saturday, 20 January 2018, 6pm
Tuesday, 23 January 2018, 7:30pm
Friday, 26 January 2018, 7:30pm
Saturday, 03 February 2018, 7:30pm
Thursday, 08 February 2018, 7:30pm
Saturday, 10 February 2018, 6:30pm
Friday, 27 April 2018, 7:30pm
Monday, 30 April 2018, 7:30pm
Tuesday, 1 May 2018, 6:30pm

Der Zauberer von Oz

Musical by Harold Arlen

based on the novel by L. Frank Baum
Music and lyrics by Harold Arlen and E. Y. Harburg

For Dorothy and her dog Toto, life is full of problems. When she tries to run away from home, a tornado sweeps them off to the wonderful land of Oz. The Wizard of Oz, who lives in the Emerald City, is the only person who might be able to show Dorothy the way home. With her companions the Scarecrow without a brain, the Tin Man without a heart, and the Cowardly Lion, she makes her way to the Wizard. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum is probably America’s best known fairy-tale, and has acquired cult status through the film version starring Judy Garland. 

Duration: 3 hours
One interval
Suitable from age 6 

Forthcoming performances:
Sunday, 29 April 2018, 6pm
Wednesday, 02 May 2018, 6:30pm
Sunday, 06 May 2018, 6pm
Monday, 14 May 2018, 6:30pm
Saturday, 19 May 2018, 6:30pm
Thursday, 31 May 2018, 4pm
Thursday, 07 June 2018, 6:30pm
Friday, 08 June 2018, 10:30am

Produktionen für Kinder

Dass Musik die Intelligenz fördert, ist bewiesen. Und sie bereitet auch Freude! Gerade klassische Musik kann auch für junge Zuhörer mitreißend sein und ist nicht nur etwas für Erwachsene.

Spezielle Produktionen für Kinder und Jugendliche laden ein, die Welt des Musiktheaters kennen zu lernen.


Pinocchio

Oper von Pierangelo Valtinoni

Wer kennt sie nicht, die Geschichte von der Holzpuppe, die zum Leben erwacht und deren Nase wächst, wenn sie lügt? Bevor der Ausreißer Pinocchio zu Vater Geppetto zurückfindet und ein Bub aus Fleisch und Blut wird, muss er zahlreiche Abenteuer bestehen: Er wird ins Gefängnis geworfen, erfriert fast, befreit sich aus den Fängen eines grausamen Zirkusdirektors und übersteht eine Wal-Attacke. Erstmals wird die Kinderoper in Österreich aufgeführt. Die Mitglieder des Kinderchors der Volksoper erleben wir als Schnecken, Raben, Eulen, Hasen, Thunfische, Grillen und Puppen. 

Dauer: ca. 1 Stunden 45 Minuten
Eine Pausen
Empfohlen ab 6 Jahren

Kommende Vorstellungen:
Österreichische Erstaufführung am So, 19.11.2017, 18:00 Uhr
So, 26.11.2017, 16:00 Uhr
Mo, 27.11.2017, 11:00 Uhr
So, 03.12.2017, 16:00 Uhr
Mi, 06.12.2017, 11:00 Uhr
Fr, 08.12.2017, 16:00 Uhr
So, 10.12.2017, 16:00 Uhr
Do, 14.12.2017, 18:30 Uhr
Mo, 18.12.2017, 18:00 Uhr
Mi, 04.04.2018, 18:00 Uhr
Fr, 13.04.2018, 11:30 Uhr
Do, 19.04.2018, 18:30 Uhr

Hänsel und Gretel

Oper von Engelbert Humperdinck

Text von Adelheid Wette

Untrennbar mit Weihnachten verbunden ist Engelbert Humperdincks Märchenoper Hänsel und Gretel an der Volksoper Wien. Seit über 30 Jahren begeistert die Inszenierung von Karl Dönch in der bezaubernden Ausstattung von Toni Businger Jung und Alt. Die Kinder des armen Besenbinders Peter vertreiben sich in der Stube singend und tanzend die Zeit. Müde kehrt die Mutter heim. Zornig über die nicht verrichteten Arbeiten jagt sie Hänsel und Gretel zum Beerensuchen in den Wald, wo 14 Engel ihren Schlaf bewachen, aber auch die böse Knusperhexe lauert …

Dauer: 2 Stunden 
Eine Pause
Empfohlen
ab 6 Jahren

Kommende Vorstellungen:
Sa, 16.12.2017, 18:00 Uhr
Mi, 20.12.2017, 11:00 Uhr
Sa, 23.12.2017, 18:00 Uhr
Mo, 25.12.2017, 17:00 Uhr
Do, 28.12.2017, 18:30 Uhr
Do, 04.01.2018, 18:30 Uhr
So, 07.01.2018, 16:00 Uhr

The Sound of Music

Musical von Richard Rodgers 

Gesangstexte von Oscar Hammerstein II
Buch von Howard Lindsay und Russel Crouse
Nach dem Roman von Maria Augusta Trapp The Trapp Family Singers

Die quirlige Klosternovizin Maria Rainer wird in das Haus des verwitweten Barons von Trapp nach Salzburg geschickt, wo sie seine sieben Kinder betreuen soll. Der ehemalige Kapitän der österreichischen Kriegsmarine, der seinen Nachwuchs mit militärischem Drill erzieht, reagiert zunächst skeptisch auf Marias unkonventionelles Wesen. Doch schon bald wächst sie ihm und den Kindern ans Herz und begleitet schließlich die Trapp-Familie auf ihrer abenteuerlichen Flucht vor den Nationalsozialisten. Einmal gehört, bleiben die Melodien von The Sound of Music noch lange im Ohr, darunter Evergreens wie „Edelweiss“ und „The hills are alive“.

Dauer: 3 Stunden
Eine Pause 
Empfohlen ab 6 Jahren

Kommende Vorstellungen:
So, 14.01.2018, 16:30 Uhr
Sa, 20.01.2018, 18:00 Uhr
Di, 23.01.2018, 19:30 Uhr
Fr, 26.01.2018, 19:30 Uhr
Sa, 03.02.2018, 19:30 Uhr
Do, 08.02.2018, 19:30 Uhr
Sa, 10.02.2018, 18:30 Uhr
Fr, 27.04.2018, 19:30 Uhr
Mo, 30.04.2018, 19:30 Uhr
Di, 01.05.2018, 18:30 Uhr

Der Zauberer von Oz

Musical von Harold Arlen 

nach dem Roman von L. Frank Baum
Musik und Gesangstexte von Harold Arlen und E. Y. Harburg

Dorothy und ihr Hund Toto stecken in Schwierigkeiten. Bei ihrem Versuch von Zuhause auszureißen, fegt sie ein Wirbelsturm fort in das wundersame Land Oz. Der Zauberer von Oz, der in der Smaragdstadt wohnt, ist der Einzige, der Dorothy den Heimweg weisen könnte. In Begleitung einer Vogelscheuche ohne Hirn, eines Blechmanns ohne Herz und eines feigen Löwen tritt sie die Reise zum Zauberer an. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz von L. Frank Baum ist Amerikas wohl berühmteste Märchenerzählung, die durch die Verfilmung mit Judy Garland Kultstatus erlangte.

Dauer: 3 Stunden
Eine Pause 
Empfohlen ab 6 Jahren

Kommende Vorstellungen:
So, 29.04.2018, 18:00 Uhr
Mi, 02.05.2018, 18:30 Uhr
So, 06.05.2018, 18:00 Uhr
Mo, 14.05.2018, 18:30 Uhr
Sa, 19.05.2018, 18:30 Uhr
Do, 31.05.2018, 16:00 Uhr
Do, 07.06.2018, 18:30 Uhr
Fr, 08.06.2018, 10:30 Uhr