Productions for children

It is a proven fact that music promotes intelligence. And it provides pleasure as well! Classical music can be a thrilling experience for young listeners too – it is certainly not just for adults.

With our special productions, we invite children and young people to get to know the world of music theatre. 

Pinocchio

Opera by Pierangelo Valtinoni 

Everyone knows the story of the wooden puppet who comes to life and whose nose gets longer when he tells lies. Before the runaway Pinocchio finds his way back to his father Geppetto and becomes a real flesh-and-blood boy, he has to deal with numerous adventures: he is thrown into prison, almost freezes to death, escapes from the clutches of the cruel circus director, and survives a shark attack.

This children’s opera is being performed for the first time in Austria. We will see members of the Volksoper children’s choir performing as snails, ravens, owls, hares, tuna fish, crickets and puppets.

Duration: approx. 1 hour 45 minutes
One interval 
Suitable
from age 6

Forthcoming performances:
Sunday, 19 November 2017, 6pm
Sunday, 26 November 2017, 4pm
Monday, 27 November 2017, 11am 
Sunday, 3 December 2017, 4pm 
Wednesday, 6 December 2017, 11am
Friday, 8 December 2017, 4pm
Sunday, 10 December 2017, 4pm
Thursday, 14 December 2017, 6:30pm 
Monday, 18 December 2017, 6pm
Wednesday, 4 April 2018, 6pm
Friday, 13 April 2018, 11:30am
Thursday, 19 April 2018, 6:30pm

Hänsel und Gretel

Opera by Engelbert Humperdinck

text by Adelheid Wette

Engelbert Humperdinck’s fairy-tale opera Hansel and Gretel is inseparably associated with Christmas at Volksoper Wien. For over 30 years the production by Karl Dönch, with magical scenery and costumes by Toni Businger, has enthralled audiences of all ages. The children of the poor broom-maker Peter spend their time singing and dancing. When their exhausted mother returns home, she is furious that they have not done the tasks she has set them, and she chases Hansel and Gretel out into the forest to look for berries. 14 angels guard them as they sleep, but the wicked witch is lurking in her gingerbread house …

Duration: 2 hours 
One interval 
Suitable from age 6

Forthcoming performances:
Saturday, 16 December 2017, 6pm
Wednesday, 20 December 2017, 11am
Saturday, 23 December 2017, 6pm
Monday, 25 December 2017, 5pm
Thursday, 28 December 2017, 6:30pm
Thursday, 04 January 2018, 6:30pm
Sunday, 07 January 2018, 4pm

The Sound of Music

Musical by Richard Rodgers 

lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II
Book by Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse
Based on the novel The Trapp Family Singers by Maria Augusta Trapp

The exuberant novice nun Maria Rainer is sent to Salzburg to the house of the widowed Baron von Trapp, where she is to look after his seven children. The former captain of the Austrian Navy, who brings his children up with military discipline, is at first sceptical in his response to Maria’s unconventional manner. However, he and the children soon take her to their hearts, and in the end she accompanies the Trapp family on their adventurous flight from the Nazis. Once heard, the melodies of The Sound of Music remain in the memory for a long time, including evergreen favourites such as “Edelweiss” and “The hills are alive”.

Duration: 3 hours
One interval
Suitable from age 6 

Forthcoming performances:
Sunday, 14 January 2018, 4:30pm
Saturday, 20 January 2018, 6pm
Tuesday, 23 January 2018, 7:30pm
Friday, 26 January 2018, 7:30pm
Saturday, 03 February 2018, 7:30pm
Thursday, 08 February 2018, 7:30pm
Saturday, 10 February 2018, 6:30pm
Friday, 27 April 2018, 7:30pm
Monday, 30 April 2018, 7:30pm
Tuesday, 1 May 2018, 6:30pm

Der Zauberer von Oz

Musical by Harold Arlen

based on the novel by L. Frank Baum
Music and lyrics by Harold Arlen and E. Y. Harburg

For Dorothy and her dog Toto, life is full of problems. When she tries to run away from home, a tornado sweeps them off to the wonderful land of Oz. The Wizard of Oz, who lives in the Emerald City, is the only person who might be able to show Dorothy the way home. With her companions the Scarecrow without a brain, the Tin Man without a heart, and the Cowardly Lion, she makes her way to the Wizard. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum is probably America’s best known fairy-tale, and has acquired cult status through the film version starring Judy Garland. 

Duration: 3 hours
One interval
Suitable from age 6 

Forthcoming performances:
Sunday, 29 April 2018, 6pm
Wednesday, 02 May 2018, 6:30pm
Sunday, 06 May 2018, 6pm
Monday, 14 May 2018, 6:30pm
Saturday, 19 May 2018, 6:30pm
Thursday, 31 May 2018, 4pm
Thursday, 07 June 2018, 6:30pm
Friday, 08 June 2018, 10:30am