Gräfin Mariza

Act 1

The country estates belonging to Countess Maritza have a new manager. He goes by the name of Béla Török but is really the impoverished Count Tassilo Endrödy-Wittemburg. Tassilo intends to work as estate manager until he has saved up a dowry for his sister Lisa, who is not supposed to know anything about the financial ruin that has fallen upon the family. In order to cover the debts, Tassilo has instructed his friend Karl Stephan Liebenberg to sell everything the Endrödy-Wittemburg family possesses. Liebenberg sends Tassilo a message saying that the sale has been completed.

Following a lengthy period of absence, Maritza announces that she is paying a visit to her country estates. She has invited a large number of guests (including her longstanding admirer Prince Populescu) to celebrate the announcement of her betrothal to a certain Koloman Zsupán. However, as Maritza states to general astonishment, the bridegroom will not be present at the betrothal party. In fact she has simply invented a bridegroom for herself (and given him the name of a character in an operetta!) in order to fend off tiresome admirers.

Tassilo introduces himself as the new estate manager, and is treated with great condescension by Maritza. To his surprise he finds himself face to face with his sister Lisa, who has arrived in Maritza’s retinue. Tassilo allows Lisa to believe that he has taken on the job of estate manager because of a woman, and asks her to keep his true identity a secret.
To everyone’s surprise, a Baron Koloman Zsupán appears in order to get to know his future bride, and persistently asks her to “Come with me to Varašdin!”

The guests celebrate boisterously, while Tassilo, who has not been invited to join them, sadly thinks back to former times. When he refuses to sing his song again for Maritza, she abruptly dismisses him. This does nothing to dampen the celebratory mood among the guests, who decide to set off for the town to visit the cabaret.

The gypsy woman Manja foretells that within four weeks Maritza will fall in love with a man of noble origin. Maritza does not go with the others to the cabaret. After all the guests have departed, she and Tassilo get to know each other better. Maritza does not want to lose her estate manager, and she revokes her dismissal.

Act 2

The four weeks have passed. Lisa has fallen in love with Zsupán, although he talks only of his love for Countess Maritza. Finally Zsupán confesses his feelings for Lisa. And the Countess is increasingly attracted to her new estate manager, although in her dreams she is still pursued by other admirers …

Prince Populescu wants to know if he is the fortunate man with whom Maritza has fallen in love, but she again refuses to go with him to the cabaret. Populescu will go to any cost and any trouble to bring the cabaret to Maritza. And he sows the seeds of doubt in Maritza’s heart, which she has long ago given to her estate manager: from an intercepted letter from Tassilo to Liebenberg it is clear that Tassilo is a nobleman in financial difficulties; Populescu also assumes that Tassilo and Lisa are secretly in love.

In front of the assembled company Maritza reveals Tassilo’s true identity. She accuses him of insinuating his way into her life as a dowry-hunter, and throws a large sum of money before him. Then Lisa reveals herself as Tassilo’s sister. In her heart, Maritza is relieved – but the break with Tassilo seems to be irreparable.

Act 3

After a night on the town, Populescu confesses to his drinking companion Zsupán that he is still eternally in love with a princess whom he has not seen for years.

Tassilo’s aunt, Princess Božena, unexpectedly appears, accompanied by her manservant Penižek. She has bought back Tassilo’s inheritance and has also sought out a bride for him, whom her nephew rejects. Talking to Maritza, Božena discovers that she loves Tassilo and bitterly regrets the way she has behaved.

Zsupán reveals himself as an impostor, but Lisa decides to stay with him. Prince Populescu recognises in Božena the woman he loved in his youth. Preparations are made for a double wedding … and Maritza and Tassilo also finally confess their love for each other.

Gräfin Mariza

1. Akt

Den Landgütern von Gräfin Mariza steht ein neuer Verwalter vor, der sich Béla Török nennt, aber eigentlich der verarmte Graf Tassilo Endrödy-Wittemburg ist. Tassilo will solange als Gutsverwalter arbeiten, bis er die Mitgift für seine Schwester Lisa, die vom finanziellen Ruin der Familie nichts erfahren soll, zusammengespart hat. Um die Schulden abzudecken, hat Tassilo seinen Freund Karl Stephan Liebenberg beauftragt, den gesamten Familien­besitz der Endrödy-Wittemburg zu veräußern. Der Freund überbringt Tassilo die Nachricht, alles geregelt zu haben.

Nach längerer Abwesenheit kündigt Mariza ihren Besuch auf dem Lande an. Sie hat eine große Gesellschaft – darunter auch ihren langjährigen Verehrer Fürst Populescu – eingeladen, um ihre Verlobung mit einem gewissen Koloman Zsupán zu verkünden. Die Verlobung wird allerdings ohne Bräutigam stattfinden, wie Mariza zur allgemeinen Verwunderung mitteilt. In Wahrheit hat sie sich den Bräutigam (mit dem Namen einer Operetten­figur!) nur ausgedacht, um lästige Verehrer abzuhalten.

Tassilo stellt sich als neuer Verwalter vor und wird von Mariza mit großer Herablassung behandelt. Unerwartet steht er seiner Schwester Lisa gegenüber, die in Marizas Gefolge angereist ist. Tassilo lässt Lisa in dem Glauben, er habe sich aus Liebe zu einer Frau anstellen lassen und bittet sie um Diskretion bezüglich seiner wahren Identität.
Überraschend erscheint ein Baron Koloman Zsupán, um seine zukünftige Braut kennenzulernen. Hartnäckig fordert er Mariza auf: „Komm mit nach Varašdin!”

Die Gesellschaft feiert ausgelassen, während Tassilo, der nicht dazugebeten wurde, melancholisch an frühere Zeiten denkt. Als er sich weigert, sein Lied für Mariza erneut zu singen, entlässt sie ihn kurzerhand aus ihren Diensten. Der Feierlaune der Gesellschaft tut das keinen Abbruch. Man beschließt, in die Stadt ins Tabarin zu fahren.

Die Zigeunerin Manja weissagt Mariza, dass sie sich binnen vier Wochen in einen Mann von edler Herkunft verlieben wird. Mariza fährt nicht mit ins Tabarin. Nachdem alle Gäste abgereist sind, kommen sie und Tassilo einander näher. Mariza will ihren Verwalter nicht verlieren und nimmt die Kündigung zurück.

2. Akt

Die vier Wochen sind vergangen. Lisa hat sich in Zsupán verliebt, obwohl dieser nur von Gräfin Mariza schwärmt. Endlich gesteht sich Zsupán seine Gefühle für Lisa ein. Und die Gräfin findet immer mehr Gefallen an ihrem neuen Verwalter, wenngleich sie in ihren Träumen immer noch von anderen Verehrern verfolgt wird …

Fürst Populescu will wissen, ob er der Glückliche ist, in den Mariza sich verliebt hat. Doch sie lehnt erneut ab, mit ihm ins Tabarin zu fahren. Populescu scheut weder Kosten noch Mühen, um das Tabarin zu Mariza zu holen. Und er sät Zweifel im Herzen Marizas, das längst ihrem Verwalter gehört: Aus einem abgefangenen Brief Tassilos an Liebenberg geht eindeutig hervor, dass Tassilo ein Adeliger in Geldnöten ist; außerdem vermutet Populescu, dass Tassilo und Lisa heimlich ein Paar seien.

Vor versammelter Gesellschaft deckt Mariza Tassilos wahre Identität auf. Sie beschuldigt ihn, sich als Mitgiftjäger eingeschlichen zu haben und wirft ihm eine große Summe Geldes hin. Da gibt sich Lisa als Tassilos Schwes­ter zu erkennen. Mariza ist innerlich erleichtert – doch der Bruch mit Tassilo scheint unüberbrückbar.

3. Akt

Nach durchzechter Nacht gesteht Populescu seinem Saufkumpanen Zsupán, dass er immer noch unsterblich verliebt ist in eine Fürstin, die er seit Jahren nicht mehr gesehen hat.

Tassilos Tante, Fürstin Božena, erscheint überraschend in Begleitung ihres Kammerdieners Penižek. Sie hat das Erbe Tassilos zurückgekauft und auch gleich eine Braut für ihn ausgesucht, die ihr Neffe ablehnt. Im Gespräch mit Mariza findet Božena heraus, dass die Gräfin Tassilo liebt und ihr Verhalten bitter bereut.

Zsupán entpuppt sich als Hochstapler, doch Lisa beschließt, bei ihm zu bleiben. Fürst Populescu erkennt in Božena seine Jugendliebe wieder. Eine Doppelhochzeit bahnt sich an … und auch Mariza und Tassilo bekennen sich endlich zu ihrer Liebe.