The Cloak

Michele is the owner of a barge on the river Seine. He has a much younger wife, Giorgetta, whose feelings towards him have cooled since the death of their child. She has secretly begun a passionate affair with Luigi, one of Michele’s workers. He and Giorgetta dream of living together in the Paris suburb of Belleville, where Luigi comes from. The “rummager”, the wife of the stevedore named "mole", who ekes out an existence collecting old clothes, also has a vision of a peaceful life in the country.

Luigi can no longer endure the fact that Giorgetta is another man’s wife, and wants to leave the barge in Rouen, but Michele persuades him to stay. Luigi and Giorgetta agree on their next rendezvous – she will light a match as a sign that he can come on board.

Michele reminds Giorgetta of the happy times they have had together, but she rejects him. Left alone, Michele wonders who his wife’s lover could be, and resolves to kill him. Before going to bed he lights his pipe on deck, and Luigi, mistaking this as the agreed sign, runs into Michele’s arms. Michele kills him and hides him under his cloak. Giorgetta comes on deck, longing to see her lover. She asks Michele to warm her. He opens his cloak and the body falls towards Giorgetta.

Gianni Schicchi

The rich Buoso Donati has just died, and the relatives who have hastened to the deathbed expecting a big inheritance, are weeping false tears for the deceased. A rumour starts circulating that Buoso has left his entire fortune to a monastery. A feverish search is immediately started for the will. Finally Rinuccio finds it. He sends for Gianni Schicchi and his daughter Lauretta, whom he loves and – against the wishes of his family – wants to marry.

Buoso has indeed disinherited his relatives. The assembled persons are unwilling to ask the advice of Schicchi, a newcomer. Neither does he want to have anything to do with the arrogant Florentines, but Lauretta sings him a heartrending plea to make her marriage to Rinuccio possible.

As no one has yet learned of the death of Buoso, Schicchi takes on the role of the deceased, disguising his voice to deceive the doctor when he comes to call. To everyone’s delight, Schicchi decides to draw up a new will; but before this he reminds them of the dreadful penalties that threaten those who forge wills: their right hands are cut off and they are sent into perpetual banishment.

The notary having been summoned, Schicchi now dictates his last will, disguised as Buoso. As previously agreed, the money and the estates are distributed between the relatives. But the main part – the mills at Signa, the Florentine town house and the valuable mule – are bequeathed by Buoso to his "faithful friend Gianni Schicchi". The new house owner chases the cheated relatives out.

Lauretta and Rinuccio are now united forever. Gianni Schicchi asks the audience to forgive his roguish trick, pleading "mitigating circumstances".

Der Mantel

Michele ist der Besitzer eines Schleppkahns auf der Seine. Die Gefühle seiner wesentlich jüngeren Frau Giorgetta zu ihm sind erkaltet, seit das gemeinsame Kind verstorben ist. Heimlich hat sie eine leidenschaftliche Beziehung mit Luigi, einem von Micheles Arbeitern, begonnen. Gemeinsam mit ihm träumt Giorgetta vom Leben in dem Pariser Vorort Belleville, wo auch Luigi herstammt. Auch die Hamsterin, Frau des Hafenarbeiters Maulwurf, die als Lumpensammlerin ihr Dasein fristet, hat die Vision von einem beschaulichen Leben auf dem Lande.

Weil er es nicht mehr erträgt, dass Giorgetta die Frau eines anderen ist, will Luigi in Rouen das Schiff verlassen. Doch Michele überredet ihn, zu bleiben. Luigi und Giorgetta vereinbaren ihr nächstes Rendezvous – sie wird ihm mit dem Entzünden eines Streichholzes das Zeichen geben, dass er an Bord kommen kann.

Michele erinnert Giorgetta an die Stunden des gemeinsamen Glücks, doch sie weist ihn ab. Allein geblieben, grübelt Michele, wer der Liebhaber seiner Frau sein könnte. Er ist entschlossen, diesen zu töten. Als Michele sich vor dem Schlafengehen auf Deck noch eine Pfeife anzündet, missdeutet Luigi dies als Zeichen und läuft Michele in die Arme. Dieser bringt ihn um und versteckt ihn unter seinem Mantel. Giorgetta kommt in banger Erwartung ihres Liebhabers an Deck. Sie bittet Michele, sie zu wärmen. Dieser öffnet seinen Mantel, und die Leiche sinkt der entsetzten Giorgetta entgegen.

Gianni Schicchi

Nach dem Hinscheiden des reichen Buoso Donati weint die herbeigeeilte Verwandtschaft, welche sich eine große Erbschaft erwartet, falsche Tränen um den Toten. Da macht ein Gerücht die Runde: Buoso habe sein gesamtes Vermögen einem Kloster vermacht. Sofort wird fieberhaft nach dem Testament gesucht. Rinuccio findet es schließlich. Er schickt nach Gianni Schicchi und dessen Tochter Lauretta, die er liebt und gegen den Willen seiner Familie heiraten möchte.

Tatsächlich hat Buoso seine Verwandten enterbt. Nur widerwillig sind die Anwesenden bereit, bei Schicchi, einem Zugereisten, Rat einzuholen. Auch dieser will nichts mit den arroganten Florentinern zu tun haben, doch Lauretta bittet ihn herzerweichend, ihr die Hochzeit mit Rinuccio zu ermöglichen.

Da noch niemand vom Ableben Buosos erfahren hat, schlüpft Schicchi in die Rolle des Verstorbenen und führt mit verstellter Stimme den vorbeikommenden Arzt hinters Licht. Schicchi beschließt zur Freude aller, ein neues Testament aufzusetzen; zuvor erinnert er sie jedoch an die schrecklichen Strafen, die Testamentsfälschern drohen: Verlust der rechten Hand und ewige Verbannung.

Dem herbeigerufenen Notar diktiert er nun, als Buoso verkleidet, seinen letzten Willen. Wie zuvor abgesprochen, werden das Geld und die Landgüter zwischen den Verwandten verteilt. Doch der Hauptteil – die Mühlen von Signa, das Florentiner Stadthaus und das wertvolle Maultier – fällt Buosos „treu ergebenem Freunde Gianni Schicchi“ zu. Der neue Hauseigentümer jagt die geprellten Verwandten hinaus.

Lauretta und Rinuccio sind nun für immer vereint. Gianni Schicchi bittet das Publikum für seine Gaunerei um „mildernde Umstände“.