zum Inhalt zur Navigation



Konzert: Tschaikowski / Prokofjew / Pépin

Camille Pépin (*1990): Vajrayana
Sergei Prokofjew (1891–1953): Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 3 C-Dur, op. 26
Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowski (1840–1893): Sinfonie Nr. 5 e-Moll, op. 64

Piano: Daniel Ciobanu
Conductor: Ben Glassberg

As soloist you will experience the multi-award-winning Romanian pianist Daniel Ciobanu. He was the first pianist to win all three prizes at the Morocco Philharmonic International Piano Competition and was also awarded the audience prize at the famous Arthur Rubinstein Piano Competition. The conductor will be the Principal Guest Conductor of the Volksoper, Ben Glassberg. We asked him to give his take on the programme:
Camille Pépin (*1990): Vajrayana (2015).
"I have made recordings of all her orchestral works, which will be released shortly after our concert. She is one of the most interesting contemporary composers. In the tradition of Debussy, very accessible, yet never superficial. The piece represents the five elements of Tibetan Buddhism (earth, water, fire, wind and space), reflecting both outer and inner nature."
Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953): Third Piano Concerto (1921).
"It is really not easy to describe the unifying element Prokofiev uses to sum up the immense variety of ideas, perspectives and angles he presents to us. It is a kind of cubist approach to music, a Picasso set to music."
Peter I. Tchaikovsky (1840-1893): Fifth Symphony (1888).
"You can hear the unease in all his music. Because of his character and orientation, he was socially isolated. Nevertheless, I am very reluctant to impose a literary or biographical programme on this music. It is 'only' a composer who proves how masterful he is at his craft by awakening human emotions in us, the listeners."


Ben Glassberg
Daniel Ciobanu