zum Inhalt zur Navigation


(c)Andreas Jakwerth
© Andreas Jakwerth

Anita Manolova

Anita Manolova was born in Sofia (Bulgaria). After studying at the National School of Dancing Arts in Sofia she joined the Academy of Music, Performing Arts and Fine Arts in Plowdiw with focus on ballet pedagogics. From 2007 to 2010 she was a member of the National Opera and Ballet Company Sofia, since 2010 she is dancer at the Vienna State Ballet. In 2014 she was announced demi-soloist.

Her most important roles at the Vienna State Ballet comprise Luisa, Pastorale and Spanish dance in Rudolf Nureyev’s »The Nutcracker«, Friend of the prince, Noble lady and Neapolitan dance in Nureyev’s »Swan Lake«, Kitriʼs friend in Nureyev’s »Don Quixote«, Saracens duo and Grand Pas classique hongrois (solo variation) in Nureyev’s »Raymonda«, Fairy of Playfulness in Peter Wright’s »The Sleeping Beauty«, Fee Miettes qui tombent in Martin Schläpferʼs »The Sleeping Beauty«, Odalisque in Manuel Legris' »Le Corsaire«, Carnival dance and lily girl in John Cranko’s »Romeo and Juliet«, Liseʼs Friend in Frederick Ashton’s »La Fille mal gardée«, Polar fox in Michael Corder’s »The Snow Queen«, Peasant Pas de deux and Zulma in Elena Tschernischova’s »Giselle«, Nubian slave (soloist) and Farmerʼs wife in Manuel Legris’ »Sylvia«, Aurora, the dawn in Pierre Lacotte’s »Coppélia«. Furthermore, she danced parts in George Balanchine’s »Theme und Variations«, »Stravinsky Violin Concerto«, »Allegro Brillante«, »Symphonie in C« and »Jewels«, Harald Lander’s »Ètudes«, Jerome Robbins’ »Glass Pieces«, »The Concert« and »The Four Seasons«, Serge Lifar’s »Suite en blanc«, John Cranko’s »Romeo and Juliet«, Kenneth MacMillan’s »Manon«, Roland Petit’s »Die Fledermaus« and »L’Arlésienne«, Maurice Béjart’s »Le Concours«, Pierre Lacotte’s Pas de six from »La Vivandière« and »La Sylphide«, August Bournonville’s »La Sylphide« (Pas de deux), Elena Tschernischova’s »Giselle«, Jorma Elo’s »A Midsummer Nightʼs Dream«, John Neumeier’s »Bach Suite«, »Vaslaw«, »Spring and Fall« (excerpts), »Verklungene Feste« and »Le Pavillon d’Armide«,  Boris Eifman’s »Giselle Rouge«, Helen Pickett’s »Eventide«, Christopher Wheeldon’s »Fool’s Paradise«, Edwaard Liang’s »Murmuration«, Kenneth MacMillan’s »Concerto«, William Forsythe’s »Artifact Suite«, Jiří Kylián’s »Symphony of Psalms« and works by Martin Schläpfer.

Her awards include 1st Prizes at the International Ballet Competition in Modica (Italy, 2006) and at the 14th National Meeting of Young Dancers »Anastas Petrov« (Bulgaria, 2010).

Upcoming performances

No performances scheduled at this time