zum Inhalt zur Navigation

suchen:

Loading...
(c)Andreas Jakwerth
© Andreas Jakwerth

Olga Esina

Olga Esina was born in St. Petersburg and educated at the Vaganova Academy from 1996 to 2004. From 2004 to 2006 she was a member of the ballet of the Mariinsky Theatre where she danced already leading roles of the classical repertoire, such as Odette/Odile in »Swan Lake« as well as works by Georges Balanchine. In 2006 she joined the Ballett der Wiener Staatsoper und Volksoper, in 2010 she was appointed First Soloist of the Vienna State Ballet. 

Her Viennese repertoire includes numerous important roles, such as Odette/Odile in Rudolf Nureyev's "Swan Lake" - she can also be seen in this parade role on the DVD (C-Major) released in 2014 -, Princess Aurora in Peter Wright's "Sleeping Beauty", the title role and Myrtha in Elena Tchernichova's "Giselle", Kitri and Queen of the Dryads in Rudolf Nureyev's "Don Quixote", title roles in Kenneth MacMillan's "Manon", Boris Eifman's "Anna Karenina", Rudolf Nureyev's "Raymonda", Michael Corder's "The Snow Queen" and Manuel Legris' "Sylvia", Marguerite Gautier in John Neumeier's "The Lady of the Camellias", Hamsatti in Vladimir Malakhov's "La Bayadère", Bella in Roland Petit's "Die Fledermaus", Ada in Maurice Béjart's "Le Concours", Juliet in John Cranko's "Romeo and Juliet", Médora in Manuel Legris' "Le Corsaire", Ballerina in Boris Eifman's "Giselle Rouge", Swanilda in "Coppélia" by Gyula Harangozó sen., Princess Maria in Gyula Harangozó's "The Nutcracker", the Queen in the world premiere of Martin Schläpfer's "Sleeping Beauty" as well as works by George Balanchine, Jorma Elo, David Dawson, William Forsythe, Serge Lifar, Jean-Christophe Maillot, John Neumeier, Jerome Robbins, Heinz Spoerli, Christopher Wheeldon and Hans van Manen, in whose video ballet "Live" she could be seen in 2020 in the live time-delayed stream on ARTE concert and in the television broadcast on ORF 2.
Furthermore, she created the role of Titania in Jorma Elo's "A Midsummer Night's Dream", the title role in Patrick de Bana's "Marie Antoinette" and András Lukács' "The White Pas de deux". She has also danced in numerous ballet interludes at the Vienna Philharmonic's New Year's Concert and the Vienna Opera Ball.Guest performances have taken Olga Esina, amongst others, to Hungary, France, Argentine, Italy, Russia, Germany, England, Spain, Japan and the United States.

Her awards include the Prix International of the magazine Ballet 2000 (2008), nominations for the Prix Benois de la Danse (2006 and 2012) and the Taglioni Award (2014). Olga Esina was nominated "Dancer of the Year" for her role as the Queen in Martin Schläpfer's "The Sleeping Beauty" in the critics' poll for the 2023 yearbook of the magazine "tanz".

Upcoming performances

(c)Andreas Jakwerth
© Andreas Jakwerth

Olga Esina

Olga Esina wurde in St. Petersburg geboren. Sie studierte von 1996 bis 2004 in ihrer Heimatstadt an der Waganowa-Akademie des Russischen Balletts. Von 2004 bis 2006 war sie Mitglied des Balletts des Mariinski-Theaters, wo sie bereits Hauptrollen des klassischen Repertoires tanzte, darunter Odette/Odile in »Schwanensee«, sowie Partien in Werken von George Balanchine. 2006 schloss sie sich als Solotänzerin dem Ballett der Wiener Staatsoper und Volksoper an, 2010 wurde sie zur Ersten Solotänzerin des Wiener Staatsballetts ernannt.

Ihr Wiener Repertoire umfasst zahlreiche bedeutende Rollen, darunter Odette/Odile in Rudolf Nurejews »Schwanensee« – in dieser Paraderolle ist sie auch auf der 2014 erschienenen DVD (C-Major) zu sehen –, Prinzessin Aurora in Peter Wrights »Dornröschen«, Swanilda in »Coppélia« von Gyula Harangozó sen., Prinzessin Maria in Gyula Harangozós »Der Nussknacker«, Titelrolle und Myrtha in Elena Tschernischovas »Giselle«, Kitri und Königin der Dryaden in Rudolf Nurejews »Don Quixote«, Titelrollen in Kenneth MacMillans »Manon«, Michael Corders »Die Schneekönigin«, Boris Eifmans »Anna Karenina«, Rudolf Nurejews »Raymonda« und  Manuel Legris’ »Sylvia«, Hamsatti in Vladimir Malakhovs »Die Bajadere«, Bella in Roland Petits »Die Fledermaus«, Ada in Maurice Béjarts »Le Concours«, Julia in John Crankos »Romeo und Julia«, Médora in Manuel Legris' »Le Corsaire« und Ballerina in Boris Eifmans »Giselle Rouge«, sowie Werke von George Balanchine, Serge Lifar, Jerome Robbins, John Neumeier, Jean-Christophe Maillot, Jorma Elo, David Dawson, William Forsythe, Christopher Wheeldon und Hans van Manen, in dessen Videoballett »Live« sie 2020 im live-zeitversetzten Stream auf ARTE concert sowie im Fernsehen auf ORF 2 zu erleben war. In Jorma Elos »Ein Sommernachtstraum« kreierte sie die Partie der Titania, in Patrick de Banas »Marie Antoinette« die Titelrolle und András Lukács’ »The White Pas de deux«. Darüber hinaus tanzte sie in zahlreichen Balletteinlagen des Neujahrskonzerts der Wiener Philharmoniker und des Wiener Opernballs.

Gastspiele führten Olga Esina u.a. nach Ungarn, Frankreich, Argentinien, Italien, Russland, Deutschland, England, Spanien, Japan und die USA. Zu ihren Auszeichnungen zählen der Prix International der Zeitschrift »Ballet 2000« (2008) sowie Nominierungen für den Prix Benois de la Danse (2006 und 2012) und den Taglioni Award (2014).

Kommende Vorstellungen

Derzeit keine Vorstellungen