Frequently asked questions


Getting there


No, the use of public transport is not included in the ticket price for Volksoper Wien.


There are two drop-off and pick-up points for tour coaches in the direct vicinity of the Volksoper (Währinger Strasse and Fuchsthallergasse). Details and further information about coach parking near the theatre can be found on the Vienna Tourist Office Website: parking facilities



Before, during and after your visit

Unless otherwise stated in the schedule, performances at Volksoper Wien are generally sung in German.


With a valid Vienna City Card from the Vienna Tourist Office, you get a 10% reduction when you buy tickets at the advance sales box offices and at the evening box office (this reduction does not apply to standing tickets).


Tickets which you have reserved and paid for belong to you and will not be sold on even if you do not appear to collect them. The evening box office closes when the performance starts. However, we recommend that you collect your tickets approximately 30 minutes before the start of the performance.


The starting and finishing times for each performance, and cast lists, can be viewed online, in our season programme and in the printed monthly programme. In the case of premieres, the performance time is not known until after the dress rehearsal. Any casting changes are continually updated online.


Our telephone information service on +43/1/514 44-3670 (Mon – Fri 9am – 4pm) is happy to provide information about interval times for all productions which have already had their dress rehearsal.


No, there is no specific dress code at Volksoper Wien. We want you to wear what is right for you: at Volksoper Wien, you are properly dressed whether you come in jeans and a shirt or wearing a suit or a dress.


You must hand in outer clothing, backpacks and large bags to our cloakrooms. The charge is € 1.10 per person.
The cloakroom charge must be paid in cash.


Unless otherwise stated, admission starts 30 minutes before the performance begins.


Yes, the lift to the balcony and gallery is located in the stalls area, to the left of the cloakrooms.


In conjunction with ÖBB, Volksoper Wien offers cushions for the smallest children. Specially made cushions are available at the audience service desk by the cloakrooms, and can be borrowed free of charge. Only the cushions provided may be used. Cushions to raise the height of seats may only be used by children. 


A programme including cast list costs € 3.30. The cast list can also be purchased separately for € 0.40. The programmes are in German, but they contain content information in English, French, Italian and Japanese.
If you purchase tickets online, you can also purchase a voucher for a programme together with your tickets.
Digital editions of our programmes, including numerous backstage videos, can be downloaded in our app for € 0.99. The app is available at the App Store and Google Play.


If you arrive late for a performance, the decision to admit you to the auditorium (for example during applause or a break in the performance) rests with audience service staff. Please understand that this can vary from performance to performance, and that there is no entitlement to late admittance to a performance.


Yes, Volksoper Wien has a surtitle system on the upper proscenium arch. You can find out whether surtitles are provided for a particular performance (and in what language) from our season programme and the printed monthly performance programme. Operettas generally have English surtitles, except on the premiere.


We would point out that taking photographs and making sound recordings during the performance is not permitted, and we ask you to switch off your mobile phone during the performance (in the darkened auditorium, luminous displays are distracting for our artistes and also for other patrons).


Volksoper Wien does not have an online shop. You can purchase the following books, CDs and DVDs at our pay desks.
(Click on the cover to get price information for the product.)


You can report lost items to the lost property office at the following address: gefunden@volksoper.at. If you find an article that appears to have been lost, please hand it to one of our staff members.


Food and drink

Each floor (entrance foyer, balcony and gallery) of the theatre has a buffet where you can enjoy refreshments before the performance and during the intervals. You are welcome to pre-order interval refreshments, or you can order personally with a member of our staff at the buffets.

Provided you order in good time, we will gladly put together a cocktail buffet to your requirements.

Further information:
Tel.: +43/1/404 46 - 63 or 62
Fax: +43/1/404 46 64
bankett@kremslehnerhotels.at


Austrian cuisine with a modern interpretation – a stylish way to end your evening at the theatre, just 3 tram stops away.

Tulsi, the “holy basil” which is native to India, is an essential ingredient in Ayurvedic cooking. Taking this plant as our model, at Tulsi Indian Cuisine we offer our guests traditional Indian dishes with a touch of modern inspiration and creative preparation.

Prompt pre- and post-theatre service. Welcome to Café Weimar! We are located just 99 steps in the direction of the city centre. · 1090 Vienna · Währinger Strasse 68

The best local Vietnamese restaurant. A warm welcome awaits you before or after the performance! We are happy to fit in with performance times.


Disabled access

Volksoper Wien has disabled access. A separate entrance with bell and ramp to the left of the main entrance brings you into the box office foyer and the stalls area of the auditorium.
Because of regulatory restrictions, it is unfortunately not possible for wheelchair users to attend pre-performance introductory talks and the “Heute im Foyer...” events. We apologise for any inconvenience.


The theatre has two permanent wheelchair seats (each with an adjoining seat for a companion). These are located on the right and left of row 19 in the stalls. Provided you let us know not later than 10 days beforehand, we can provide up to 14 wheelchair seats per performance.
Because of regulatory restrictions, wheelchair users can only occupy the (special wheelchair) seats provided in the stalls. Wheelchairs cannot be moved to other seats.


Wheelchair seats are available for € 4,–. Two adjoining seats for companions are also available, also priced at € 4,–. Please note that only one seat for a companion can be purchased with each wheelchair seat. The two permanent seats including adjoining companion seats can be reserved in writing or by telephoning +43/1/514 44-3666 (Monday to Friday from 9am to 4pm), and can also be purchased in advance sales at the box offices. The additional wheelchair seats can be provided in this way (please let us know not later than 10 days before the performance).


The disabled toilet is in the stalls area to the right of the cloakrooms.


There is a disabled persons’ car park in Lustkandlgasse just in front of the main entrance to Volksoper Wien (entrance via Fuchsthallergasse). If you have a disabled person’s card, you can also have unlimited parking free of charge in the short-term parking areas. 


Registered guide dogs are permitted in the theatre and in the auditorium.


Upon presentation of a disabled person’s card, you are entitled to a 50% reduction on the full price when you buy tickets at the box office. Registered companions of disabled persons also receive this reduction.


Introductory talks, dress rehearsals

With selected performances, 30 minutes before the start time an introductory talk is given by the Volksoper production team in the gallery foyer. The performances at which introductory talks are provided are indicated in our season programme.


Public dress rehearsals are announced when our printed monthly performance programme appears, and are also listed on our website season programme from this date onwards. Tickets for public dress rehearsals cost € 15,–, and can be purchased exclusively from the start of advance sales at the box offices or online. Tickets cannot be reserved.


Additional information

We will gladly send you our monthly programme of performances, our “Volksoper” magazine, the children’s magazine and the subscription/cycles booklet by post. Just send us an email with your address to marketing@volksoper.at.


If you have any further queries, please contact the Information Office of Volksoper Wien by email at info@volksoper.at, or telephone +43/1/514 44-3670 (Monday to Friday from 9am to 4pm).

Häufig gestellte Fragen


Anfahrt


Nein, im Eintrittspreis für die Volksoper Wien ist die Nutzung der öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel nicht inkludiert.


Vor, während und nach Ihrem Besuch

Die Beginn- und Endzeiten jeder Vorstellung und die jeweilige Besetzung sind online im Spielplan sowie im gedruckten Monatsspielplan ersichtlich. Bei Premieren steht die Dauer der Inszenierung erst nach der Generalprobe fest. Besetzungsänderungen werden online laufend aktualisiert.


Die telefonische Information unter +43/1/514 44-3670 (Mo-Fr 9:00-16:00 Uhr) gibt Ihnen gerne Auskunft über die Pausenzeiten von Vorstellungen, deren Generalprobe bereits stattgefunden hat.


Nein, in der Volksoper Wien gilt kein spezifischer Dresscode. Wir freuen uns über angemessene Kleidung: In Jeans und Hemd sind Sie bei uns genauso richtig wie in Anzug oder Kleid.


Die Abgabe von Überbekleidung, Rucksäcken und großen Taschen an den Garderoben ist verpflichtend und kostet € 1,10 pro Person.

Die Garderobengebühr kann ausschließlich in bar bezahlt werden.


Der Einlass in den Zuschauerraum beginnt, wenn nicht anders angegeben, 30 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn.


Ja, der Fahrstuhl zu Balkon und Galerie befindet sich im Parkettbereich links neben den Garderoben.


Gemeinsam mit den ÖBB bietet die Volksoper Wien Sitzkissen für die Allerkleinsten an. Eigens angefertigte Kissen liegen beim Publikumsdienst an den Garderoben bereit und können gratis ausgeborgt werden. Es dürfen nur die zur Verfügung gestellten Kissen verwendet werden. Die Sitzerhöhungen dürfen ausschließlich von Kindern benutzt werden.


Ein Programmheft inkl. Besetzungszettel kostet € 3,30. Der Besetzungszettel kann auch separat zum Preis von € 0,40 gekauft werden. Die Programmhefte sind in deutscher Sprache, enthalten jedoch Inhaltsangaben in englischer, französischer, italienischer und japanischer Sprache.
Beim online Kauf haben Sie die Möglichkeit, gemeinsam mit Ihren Karten einen Gutschein für ein Programmheft zu erwerben.
Digitale Ausgaben unserer Programmhefte mit zahlreichen Backstage-Videos können Sie um € 0,99 in unserer App downloaden. Die App erhalten Sie im App Store und bei Google Play.


Sollten Sie zu spät zu einer Vorstellung kommen, liegt es im Ermessen des Publikumsdienstes, Ihnen etwa bei Applaus oder während einer Lichtpause Einlass in den Saal zu gewähren. Wir bitten um Ihr Verständnis, dass dies von Vorstellung zu Vorstellung variieren kann und kein Anspruch auf verspäteten Einlass besteht.


Ja, die Volksoper Wien verfügt über eine Übertitelanlage auf dem oberen Bühnenportal. Ob und in welcher Sprache Übertitel bei der jeweiligen Vorstellung angezeigt werden, können Sie unserem Spielplan sowie dem gedruckten Monatsprogramm entnehmen. Operetten haben generell englische Übertitel. Hiervon ausgenommen ist nur die Premiere.


Wir weisen Sie darauf hin, dass Bild- und Tonaufnahmen während der Vorstellung untersagt sind und bitten Sie, Ihr Mobiltelefon während der Vorstellung auszuschalten (im abgedunkelten Zuschauerraum sind auch leuchtende Displays für unsere Künstler und andere Besucher störend).


Die Volksoper Wien verfügt über keinen Onlineshop. Folgende Bücher, CDs und DVDs können Sie an unseren Kassen erwerben. 
(Durch Klick auf das Cover erhalten Sie die Preisinformationen des entsprechenden Produkts)


Den Verlust von Gegenständen können Sie dem Fundbüro unter der E-Mail Adresse gefunden@volksoper.at mitteilen. Wir bitten Sie, gefundene Gegenstände beim Publikumsdienst abzugeben.


Kulinarisches

In jedem Stockwerk (Eingangsfoyer, Balkon und Galerie) des Hauses befindet sich ein Buffet, wo Sie vor der Vorstellung und während der Pausen Erfrischungen zu sich nehmen können. Gerne können Sie ein Pausenangebot vorreservieren oder vorort persönlich bei einem Mitarbeiter bei den Buffets bestellen.

Pausenangebote
Preis und Angebot pro Person (ab 10 Personen erhältlich)

Volksopernpause
1 Glas Kattus Cuvée No. I oder Kattus Cuvée No. I mit Orangensaft
Orangensaft 0,25 l oder Vöslauer 0,33 l
2 Sandwiches, 2 Petits Fours
€ 16,90

Sekt Pause
1 Piccolo Kattus Cuvée No. I
1 Sandwich, 1 Petit Fours
€ 14,40

Champagner Pause
1 Piccolo Champagner Laurent Perrier
3 Canapés oder 2 Sandwiches
2 Petits fours
€ 33,90

Wiener Kaffee Pause
1 Melange oder Espresso
Orangensaft 0,25 l
1 Mehlspeise
€ 7,60

Kinder Pause
Heißer Kakao
Pepsi-Cola 0,33l oder Orangensaft 0,2 l
Gugelhupf oder Krapfen
€ 7,10

Bei rechtzeitiger Reservierung stellen wir Ihnen auch gerne ein Cocktailbuffet nach Ihren Wünschen zusammen.

Kontakt
Tel.: +43/1/404 46 - 63 oder 62
Fax: +43/1/404 46 64
 bankett@kremslehnerhotels.at


Prompte Bedienung vor und nach dem Theater. Herzlich willkommen! Nur 99 Schritte stadteinwärts · 1090 Wien · Währingerstrasse 68

Österreichische Küche modern interpretiert – ein stilvoller Ausklang nach einer gelungenen Vorstellung – nur 3 Straßenbahnstationen entfernt.


Barrierefreiheit

Die Volksoper Wien ist barrierefrei zugänglich. Durch einen eigenen Eingang mit Klingel und Rampe links neben dem Haupteingang gelangen Sie ins Kassenfoyer und den Parkettbereich des Zuschauerraums.
Aus behördlichen Gründen ist es für Rollstuhlfahrer leider nicht möglich, an Werkeinführungen und der Reihe „Heute im Foyer...“ teilzunehmen. Wir bitten um Ihr Verständnis!


Unser Haus verfügt über zwei baulich fix angelegte Rollstuhlplätze mit jeweils einem Begleitplatz, diese befinden sich rechts und links der Reihe 19 im Parkett. Nach Vereinbarung bis spätestens 10 Tage vor der Vorstellung können wir bis zu 14 Rollstuhlplätze pro Vorstellung zur Verfügung stellen.
Aus behördlichen Gründen ist es Personen mit Rollstuhl ausschließlich möglich, die dafür vorgesehenen Plätze im Parkett einzunehmen. Eine Zufahrt mit dem Rollstuhl zu anderen Sitzplätzen ist nicht gestattet.


Rollstuhlplätze sind zum Preis von € 4,– erhältlich. Zwei Begleitsitze stehen zu ebenfalls € 4,– zur Verfügung. Wir bitten Sie zu beachten, dass zu einem Rollstuhlplatz nur jeweils ein Begleitsitz gekauft werden kann. Die beiden baulich angelegten Plätze inklusive Begleitplatz können schriftlich oder telefonisch unter +43/1/514 44-3666 (Montag bis Freitag von 9:00 bis 16:00 Uhr) reserviert sowie im Vorverkauf an den Kassen gekauft werden. Die zusätzlichen Rollstuhlplätze können auf diesem Weg bis spätestens 10 Tage vor der Vorstellung bereitgestellt werden.


Die barrierefreie Toilette befindet sich im Parkettbereich rechts neben den Garderoben.


Ein Behindertenparkplatz befindet sich in der Lustkandlgasse direkt vor dem Haupteingang der Volksoper Wien (Einfahrt über Fuchsthallergasse). Außerdem können Sie mit Ihrem Ausweis zeitlich unbeschränkt und gebührenfrei in den Kurzparkzonen parken.


Eingetragenen Blindenführhunden ist der Zugang zum Haus und dem Zuschauerraum gestattet.


Bei Vorlage eines Behindertenausweises haben Sie beim Kauf von Karten an der Abendkasse Anspruch auf eine Ermäßigung von 50% auf den Vollpreis. Eine eingetragene Begleitperson erhält diese Ermäßigung ebenfalls.


Einführungen, Generalproben

Bei ausgewählten Vorstellungen gibt es 30 Minuten vor Vorstellungstermin eine Einführungen durch die Dramaturgie der Volksoper im Galeriefoyer. Für welche Vorstellungen Einführungen angeboten werden, können Sie unserem Spielplan entnehmen.


Öffentliche Generalproben werden mit Erscheinen des jeweiligen gedruckten Monatsspielplans bekannt gegeben und sind ab diesem Zeitpunkt auch auf unserer Website im Spielplan angeführt. Karten für öffentliche Generalproben kosten € 14,– und können ausschließlich ab Beginn des Vorverkaufs an den Tageskassen oder online gekauft werden. Es besteht keine Möglichkeit, Karten zu reservieren.


Weiterführende Informationen

Gerne senden wir Ihnen unseren Monatsspielplan, unsere Volksopernzeitung, das Kinderheft sowie das Abo- & Zyklenheft per Post zu. Senden Sie uns einfach eine Mail mit Ihrer Adresse an marketing@volksoper.at.


Ja, die Volksoper versendet etwa einmal pro Monat einen allgemeinen Newsletter sowie einen Kindernewsletter. Zudem können Sie sich für den zweimonatlichen Ballettnewsletter anmelden.


Sollten Sie noch weitere Fragen haben, erreichen Sie die Information der Volksoper Wien per E-Mail unter info@volksoper.at oder telefonisch unter +43/1/514 44-3670 (Montag bis Freitag von 9:00 bis 16:00 Uhr).